What’s left to fear?

I believe was it Shakespeare who asked, “Death where is your sting?” I did that sonnet in when I was in my final year at high school. To be honest it made no sense to me at the time but now I remember my teacher and how she emphasized the sonnet as she read it. Most people like her have no idea what the revelation of that sonnet is and if known how it would alter their world in the present day.

The majority of people if asked would most likely describe me along the lines of passionate, wild, crazy or one I favour “fearless”. I often wonder why people see me that way. I wondered if something was wrong with me. Most people are cautious and think things all the way through. They use clichés about living life to the fullest yet fear stepping out and undertaking something they thought they never could.

I remember bungee jumping last year off the worlds’ highest bridge at Storms River. We went as a group of friends and while some would describe it as liberating I came away from that experience with a pressure filled headache and uncontrollable nausea. Question now is if I knew then what I knew now would I still have done it. The answer is a presumable “Yes”, because in it I found so many lessons I could never take away. I overcame a fear of heights; I jumped away a broken heart; that some problems are really quite small when faced with death or the thought of it; and notably I am not afraid of dying. I remember them asking me before I jumped if I was scared and I laugh when I watch the DVD. I said it’s okay if I die at least I will see Jesus sooner.

Death lost its sting in my life a very long time ago.  When we faced with the fear of death and overcome it we are not held captive any longer. Part of a Christians’ walk with God is understanding salvation. That when given and once received it is gift that can never be taken from us. I know I have eternal life just like you need to know, that you know, you have eternal life. The book of revelation describes heaven as majestic and jewelled. Personally, I would love to see God’s face. He sees mine every day. I understand that I have a purpose and destiny that I have to fulfil in this lifetime and that there are people waiting to be impacted by my life but I made a choice and that was to live and be who God said I am. The same goes for you. “Is fear holding you back?”

I remember waking up from being in a coma. My heart stopped and I was in ICU. I look back at that broken girl and all I can do is smile. Death was not ready for me then and death is still not ready for me now. God wanted me to live even when I didn’t want life. Looking back the difficulty I faced then seems so insignificant to the difficulty now. Only thing different is now throwing in the towel isn’t an option.

The Angel of death passed my house a very long time ago. I have been set free and have had to understand what it means to live a full life. God is the God of the second, third, twenty-ninth chance and Jesus makes it possible for us to approach His throne boldly and ask what our destiny’s entail. God wants us to live victorious lives and do remarkable things for the Kingdom. He has given you eternal life so start living it now.

So when this corruptible has put on incorruption, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory”

“O Death, where is your sting? O Hades where is your victory?”

Shakespeare was referring to the resurrection power of Christ Jesus [1 Corinthians 15:54-55]

~ by shannonbhana on October 11, 2012.

One Response to “What’s left to fear?”

  1. Beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
