What does love look like?

Two months ago I was asked to minister at a Christian Youth Meeting. I remember the day got so busy that I hardly had time to prepare and I was not going to just read something from the bible. So I walked to the front of the church and introduced myself. I spoke a little about myself and then about how God has come through for me and shown me His love. It was in that moment that I realised I was not talking but the Holy Spirit was opening up my heart as the words were coming out of my mouth. I spoke about being single and how I prayed to God for a partner and how He kept telling me He wanted to be my partner. He wanted me to understand His love not man’s love but His love. I felt His love come over me and I said to the Worship team lets sing about love. Lets sing “He is jealous for me”. As we sang that song I made a call for people who were not feeling loved and asked others to come forward and offer hugs. It was not about laying hands. These people were not sick they were hurt and needed to receive God’s love.

There were so many kids in the line. As I looked forward there was boy in a wheelchair looking at me. I looked at Him and said God loves you so much and God does not want to see you struggle. God wants you to have a youth filled with adventure. I asked him if I could pray for Him. He said yes. It was not the most exciting ‘yes’ but I would take it. I asked men to lift Him out of the wheelchair and hold him up. I then put my hands on his pelvis and I said “I command this back to come in with Gods word”. As the boy got placed back in the wheelchair I could see he had doubt. I prayed over Him and then realised he was out under the Power of God just laying like a sleeping child in the wheelchair. The crowd of children just observed him. I remember a four-year old girl asking me if he was dead. To be honest I did not know what to say. So I said God’s just speaking to him. Then something happened which I will never ever forget. The boy’s body lifted up in mid-air and what I saw was like an electric bolt shot through his body. His legs that were bent then went straight and as he dropped down his eyes opened. I was just as surprised as anyone. I went to him and touched his toes. I asked if he could feel anything. He said he could feel everything in his legs. I never knew that he had no such feeling since the age of two years old when he was dropped as a child and his spinal cord injured.

That was when God showed me His heart for His children and how God is moved by compassion.

Two weeks later my family was having a farewell party for me as I was leaving to the United States to study. So they arranged a meeting where people would come and pray over me. As the prayer meeting started this man walked in with crutches and was clearly cripple. I remember smiling inside for some reason. He walked in with his pastor who I had never met before. I walked over to him and said to him, “would you like me to pray for you sir?” He said to me, “That is why I came to your party!”. So I said to him very well. Lets pray like this is the very first time someone has ever prayed for you. I stretched out my hand to him. He couldn’t hold it because his fingers and arms were completely bent. It was like stone. Then I put my palm on His palm and I said the word “fire”. I started to hear clicking sounds. The bones in his arms started clicking into place and then I said Holy Spirit fix his arm and his shoulders and they straightened up. I kept asking the man if he was okay because it looked like I was watching an episode of the transformers as his body started taking shape. As I put my hand on his back. I heard every vertebrae click back into place. The sounds were loud and although he said it was not painful it caused me to cringed. The Holy Spirit continued to work on the man for three hours so much that no one could pray over me. I was so fascinated by what God was doing I was like a child in a candy store glaring at something amazing.

A week later the very same man came to a men’s meeting and shared his testimony. My best friend was present at my party and the men’s meeting and I remember him saying Shanny nothing will every take away the memory of God’s love for that man.

We can never explain love. We can never love in the same measure as God but what stops us from trying. Those miracles did not happen in a formal church service. The atmosphere was filled with unbelief but God was moved by compassion. He wants to love the sick, the broken and the down trodden furiously.

He wants to love you furiously. You might not be physically sick but His compassion will cause you to walk again and cause you to stand when every odd was against you even if you don’t have the faith for it. He has more than enough compassion and love to see you through. All you have to do is just let God in and say I receive your love.

NLT 1 John 4 verse 18

Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love.

~ by shannonbhana on October 12, 2012.

5 Responses to “What does love look like?”

  1. Awesome! Thanks for sharing and praise God! I’m going to reblog this on http://bythebloodofthelamb.com – Encouraging and edifying the body of Christ through testimonies of God’s grace in our lives.

  2. Reblogged this on By the Blood of the Lamb and commented:
    God heals a boy from a wheel chair!

    • I am so honoured. Just started blogging yesterday for the first time and I love that this testimony touched some else. Thanks for reblogging. God is our healer

  3. Beautifully written xxxxx

  4. Wow!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
