How to find the “will” of God for your life

We are a generation that desires purpose and destiny. Everyone wants to be remembered for living a life of substance and impact. We want to be remembered for our worth. That in our leaving this world we will receive the great “well done” from our Daddy in heaven. We are born with an assignment and it was carried out in our lifetime. I see people, especially young adults stress about the will of God for their lives. It’s quite funny that some think that this big God would be so upset if you took a wrong turn. Trust me Romans 8 verse 28 says He will work it out for your good. The answer is quite simple. I hope this note guides you to discover the heart and love of God. That when you seek His face things change and align. It is not about instruction and performance. It is about being in relationship with the Father and we have that through Jesus Christ. We have access to approach the throne boldly and through that we can carry out the will of God for our lives in great measure. Through that relationship destiny is established in the nations.

Jeremiah 29 verse 10-14

This is what the Lord says:”When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my gracious promise to bring you back to this place. For I know the plans I have for you,”declares the Lord,”plans to prosper you and not to harm you, “plans to give you a hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me with all your heart. I will be found by you,”declares the Lord,”and I will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

Notice two things: You will and I will in the scripture above

The key to unlocking your destiny is in your hands. You just did not realise it yet. Notice the You will  above. They serve as instructions to opening the door.

  • Seek me
  • Find me
  • call upon me
  • come to me
  • pray to me

Now notice the I will terms above

  • Come to you (Visit you ESV translation)
  • Fulfill my gracious promise
  • Listen to you (Hear you ESV translation)
  • Be found by you
  • Bring you back (Restore you ESV translation)

Theres an instruction to obtain the will of God for your life. It is constantly trying to find out more of who God is. He wants to be known by you in another way. He wants intimacy with His is children. You do not know what He has planned for you that’s the secret. The verse says “For I know the plans the plans I have for you”. These are not our own plans it is what He has scripted. It is hidden in Him. So you will only know your destiny when you show interest in knowing who He is or you will never fully step into what He has planned for you. There’s a trade. Your surrender, obedience, your attention for more revelation of who He is and with that what exactly you were created for.

  • I will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. {Isaiah 26:3},KJV
  • I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye {Psalm 32:8},KJV
  • And the Lord shall guide thee continually {Isaiah 58:11},KJV
  • But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. {Matthew 6:33},KJV

I know that when God says He Will _ It means He will do it

will – thelema (hebrew), used objectively of that which is willed, designed or desired and subjectively of the emotion of being desirous. The word is used both in human will and the divine will.

~ by shannonbhana on October 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “How to find the “will” of God for your life”

  1. I love your blog and this post is awesome, thank you!

    • Pleasure Tyler. Just started the blog and really happy that people are enjoying it. It’s my heart to talk about God and the destiny we have when we know the fathers heart for us. Here’s to more people being impacted by the Gospel 😀

  2. Hey Shannon this is absolutely amazing! Just what I needed to read this morning!! I love your blog!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
